Tags

, , , ,

I’ve been reading everyone’s time plans for their art during this project.  They range from 1.5 hours a day to 6 hours, from early in the morning to late at night. Some people were quite specific, and some were vague.

Turquoise Window World by Suzanne Edminster, 24″ x 24″, acrylic on canvas. This is my idea of kairos time, the time when two worlds intersect.

I’m a lark, an early bird,  a biological gift or curse, depending upon whom you ask.  My own art time will run from around 6AM to 10AM, followed by a swimming lesson in the neighborhood pool.  Here’s my newest idea.  If I wish to “earn” more time, I will go back to the studio after that.  If I do more hours,  I’ll credit them up until I reach 8 hours, then I’d like to take a day off to go into San Francisco for a gallery and museum day, or into Berkeley for art supplies, books, and to visit my friend.  That’s my plan.

We chose this logo of a spiral clock to represent infinitely expanding time, Kairos or Caerus time, which is sacred time: time for our art.  Still, this time exists in a structure of the everyday.  The other kind of time is Chronos, or Saturnian time, limits and boundaries.   The two coexist, two templates placed over each other, two movies run in the same theater of our lives.  Is the show a comedy or tragedy?  Probably a bit of both.

Thanks to Karina Nishi Marcus, I found an excellent book on time.  It’s called Creating Time: Using Creativity to Reinvent the Clock and Reclaim Your Life, by Marney K. Makridakis.  Her idea is that we actually create time, or our experience of time, which is the same thing.  Brilliant.  She has a chapter on Kairos time.  I’ll be sharing more of her concepts as we go along.

My newest Art Blog Saltworkstudio post includes 5 of my own tips on making time for art.  Would you share your own schedule for artmaking during the Caerus Artist Residency?  What are your pearls of wisdom on making time for art ?

I think I’ve spent enough time online for now, but that’s another loaded time topic!

Suzanne Edminster

